Residual Effects of a Panic Attack

I’d like to say that whenever I am struck by a panic attack that once it subsides I am good to go but I would be lying if I said that.

I don’t know if it’s just me but whenever I have a panic attack, particularly a big one, it may be over in minutes but the after effects last hours and even sometimes a day or two. At first when this happened I thought maybe I was having panic attacks all day, over and over again, and a couple of times when it was bad that was probably true, but in actuality I discovered it was the residual effects of the original panic attack.

The slight edginess in my body that left me feeling like I could be knocked over by a feather, I was that anxious. My breaths periodically speeding up or the holding of my breath, just keeping me wondering enough if another attack was coming. And the headache. I feel tired and somewhat numb after a panic attack.

I’m not sure if this is some kind of defence mechanism by my body but I find it highly intrusive. It’s bad enough that I suffered the attack in the first place but now I have to deal with the residual crap too?

Is it just me? Do others experience this too?

It feels a little bit like I’ve been wounded and the following day the bandages have been taken off. So I’m good to keep going but things remain tender, exposed, and vulnerable.

All day today I just felt slightly on the brink of something, most likely bad, and exposed. Thankfully I didn’t have another panic attack but I definitely feel like I could crash.

I hope it’s not just me.

Leave a Reply

